GSoC - Community bonding period (LibreHealth)

GSoC - Community bonding period (LibreHealth)

ยท

4 min read

I have been selected as an Open Source Contributor for LibreHealthIO under the Google Summer of Code Program and I am extremely excited to work with the amazing mentors that are assigned to mentor me for the the project, Complete UI Re-Write of the Toolkit and Radiology.

My Project

During the 2018 GSoC period, web components of FHIR Resource using Polymer.js were written. This project is to use those web components to completely re-write the UI of LibreHealth Radiology and LibreHealth Toolkit and make them Open Web App modules.

The result would be a complete Open Web App with Spring Data on the backend and Polymer.js web components as the frontend.

Discussion Thread: Complete UI Re-Write of the Toolkit and Radiology.

Community Bonding Period [May 21st to June 13th]

The period of time between when accepted GSoC contributors are announced and the time they are expected to start coding. This time is an excellent one to introduce your GSoC contributors to the community, get them on the right mailing lists, introduce them to the codebase and discuss how they will work with their mentors on their timeline for the program, etc.

The community bonding period has already started (started 6 days ago), I haven't been able to participate in the community because I have been involved in some personal issues. I was having my exams during the time the projects got announced, so was involved in them for a couple of days after the projects were announced. But then on the last day of my exams, I got the news that my grandpa died ๐Ÿ˜”. I was devastated. Then, got involved in all the rituals surrounding the death of a family member in India.

I am now over all of that and can finally start participating in the community and get to know fellow open source contributors, understand the different time zones/communication mediums for the mentors.

I had already planned out my Community Bonding Period back when I was writing the proposal for the project, and I am going to strictly stick to that only.

My Targets for This Period

I have divided this period into two parts, one for the first week of the remaining days and the next for the second week of the remaining days.

Part 1 (May 26 to June 2)

Since I have never actually used the Toolkit or the Radiology, (me not being in the medical field) I will start by understanding the workflows that are present in the application.

And while I am at it it would make a lot of sense if I create these workflows in the form of charts using the Lucid Charts Web app.

Once I get a good understanding of how a potential user uses the Toolkit and Radiology I will start exploring the codebase and get an idea of how the style of the code and the basic flow of the codebase. I will also try to change a few things and see if it causes any errors or something to solidify my understanding of the codebase.

One good way to get a good grasp of the codebase is to work on some issues on the project, so I will try to shortlist some issues and start working on them. The deliverables for this would be that I get a couple of MRs merged at least and get a good understanding of the codebase

Part 2 (June 2 to June 12)

Now that I have a good understanding of the user side of the project (the user workflows I have created using Lucid Charts) as well as the developer side of the project (the codebase). I can now start working on the designs for all the pages of the projects.

I have already created wireframes for most of the pages when I was writing the proposal, but they are just wireframes and lack a lot of details. I will start implementing full fledged designs which will follow the Material Design philosophy and will be implemented using the Material Web Components

After each section of the project, I will get feedback from the mentors and community members and incorporate the feedbacks immediately.

Deliverables

So, by the end of the community bonding period:

  • I will be having a good understanding of the project's UI workflows as well as the code workflows.
  • I would have created a couple of MRs at least.
  • I will be done with detailed designs of all the pages present in Toolkit and Radiology which would have been revised too on the bases of the feedback I get from the community and the mentors.
ย